All Fireworks Prohibited in Unincorporated Los Angeles County
The County of Los Angeles Fire Code, Title 32, Section 5601.3 states that it is illegal to store, manufacture, sell, use, or handle ALL FORMS of fireworks without a valid permit in unincorporated areas of Los Angeles County.
The Los Angeles County Fire Department encourages families to attend fireworks shows conducted by State-licensed pyrotechnicians.
The illegal use, storage, or handling of fireworks in unincorporated Los Angeles County is a violation of local and state laws and carries the following penalties:
FIREWORKS: Under California Health and Safety Code Fireworks Penalties, Section 12700 states, “any person who violates any provision of the State Fireworks laws or Regulations is guilty of a misdemeanor. A misdemeanor is punishable by a fine of not less than $500, but not to exceed $1,000 by imprisonment in the county jail for up to one year, or both.”
DANGEROUS FIREWORKS: Under California Health and Safety Code Fireworks Penalties, Section 12700(B) states, “a person in possession of unaltered dangerous fireworks in violation of the State Fireworks Law is punishable as a misdemeanor or a public offense with fines ranging from $500 to more than $50,000, depending on the gross weight of unaltered dangerous fireworks in possession.”
Each year thousands of people, many of them children, are burned, blinded, and even disfigured by fireworks. In addition, fireworks cause fires that cost us millions of dollars in property loss.
The sale and use of “Safe and Sane” fireworks in your community may be prohibited by local ordinance (check with your local fire department). If they are allowed, “Safe and Sane” fireworks can only be purchased from a State Fire Marshal licensed retail stand from noon on June 28 to noon on July 6.
NOTE TO PARENTS: If your child has any fireworks prior to June 28, the items are probably illegal and dangerous and should be turned over to your fire department! It is against the law to use, possess, store or sell “illegal fireworks.” State law provides for a fine of at least $500 and/or a year in jail upon conviction for violating fireworks laws. Some violations are a felony! Fireworks cause many burns, injuries and fires. Violators can be held responsible for damages, as well as having to pay a fine and/or go to jail. Parents are liable for any damage or injuries caused by their children using fireworks. Look for the “Safe and Sane” seal on all fireworks.