top of page
  • avdailynews.com

Minimum wage will increase on Jan. 1, 2023 in California


Antelope Valley, CA.- The state-wide California minimum wage will increase to $15.50 per hour.


In addition to California's statewide minimum wage increase, many cities and counties have enacted their own minimum wage ordinances that exceed state requirements. If an applicable local minimum wage rate is more generous to employees than the state minimum wage rate in a given locality, employers must comply with the local law.


SB 1162: Pay transparency law requires increased data reporting and pay scale disclosures


SB 1162, signed into law by Governor Newsom on September 27 and effective on January 1, 2023, expands existing pay data reporting obligations for employers of 100 or more employees. These employers must now submit annual reports to the California Civil Rights Department with the median and hourly pay rates for employees broken down by race, ethnicity, and sex. Employers who fail to file the reports will be subject to penalties of up to $100 per employee for the first reporting failure, and $200 per employee for any subsequent failure.

Comments


bottom of page