Many of new California state laws go into effect on July 1, 2019. These are a few of the ones that you may notice right away.
California gas taxes will increase 5.7 cents. It is part of a Senate Bill passed by the Legislature in Sacramento and signed by then Governor Jerry Brown in 2017. At the time gas taxes went up 12 cents along with additional registration fees. The money from the increase is supposed to go to roads and bridges along with bicycle and pedestrian projects. - Law enforcement agencies will now have to release video recordings of shootings or critical incidents of force in a historically short amount of time. If someone requests the video the agency must release it within 45 days of the incident. The AB 748 was signed into law last year by then Governor Jerry Brown.
Hospitals must have a written homeless patient discharge planning policy and log which homeless patients are discharged and the destinations where they are released. The 2018 bill by former state Sen. Ed Hernandez, D-West Covina, requires the plans to include coordinating services and referrals for homeless patients with the county behavioral health agency, health care and social service agencies in the region, health care providers, and nonprofit social service providers. It's aimed at stopping the practice of "patient dumping" of indigent patients.
New speed limit rules and other safety regulations for dockless bikes and scooters will soon go into effect.
Proposition 63 -- Ammunition Purchases
Passed by voters in 2016, beginning July 1, 2019, ammunition dealers will be required to check with the Department of Justice at the time of purchase that individuals seeking to buy ammunition are not prohibited persons.
AB 748 -- Video and Audio Recordings Disclosure
Requires the release of recordings from body-worn cameras within 45 days of an incident, including if officers fired shots or if a use-of-force causes death or great bodily harm. Law goes into effect July 1, 2019.
AB 1793 -- Cannabis Convictions: Resentencing
The California Department of Justice will need to review all marijuana convictions that would be reduced or expunged due to voters approving marijuana for recreational use in 2016. The deadline is July 1, 2019.
SB 1448 -- Doctor Probation Disclosure
Starting July 1, doctors will have to inform patients if they are on probation before they can offer treatment. The law applies to physicians, surgeons, podiatrists, acupuncturists, chiropractors and osteopathic and naturopathic doctors.